Delhi Capitals also handed over command to an Australian player in the WPL, with Meg Lanning taking over as captain


WPL 2023 Captains: In the Women’s Premier League (WPL), Delhi Capitals have also handed over the command of their team to an Australian player. The franchise chose Meg Lanning as its captain. In the recently concluded Women’s T20 World Cup, Meg made the Australian team the champion. Under his captaincy, Australia won the World Cup this time without losing a single match.

30-year-old Meg Lanning was a member of the five-time T20 World Champion team. He entered international cricket at the age of 18. In a professional career spanning over 12 years, she played 241 T20 International matches. It includes 6 Tests, 103 ODIs and 132 T20s.

He captained 100 T20 matches
Meg Lanning has scored more than three thousand runs in T20 international cricket. In T20Is he has a batting average of 36.61 and a strike rate of 116.37. She also scored two centuries in T20. She captained 100 out of 132 T20Is. He has good experience of captaincy in such situations. Delhi Capitals in Women’s Premier League Auction Rs. 1.1 Crore bet to add Meg Lanning to their team.

Jemima Rodrigues got the vice captaincy
Delhi Capitals appointed Indian middle order batsman Jemima Rodrigues as vice-captain. 22-year-old Jemima has played 80 T20 Internationals and 21 ODIs so far. He has more than two thousand international runs to his name. Jemima has played match-winning innings for the Indian team on many occasions.

Three Australian captains in WPL 2023
Delhi Capitals is commanded by Meg Lanning. At the same time, the responsibility of the Gujarat giants is also on the shoulders of Australian opener Beth Mooney. On the other hand, Australian wicket keeper batsman Alyssa Healy has been selected as the captain of UP Warriors. That means three of the 5 teams are captained by Australian players. The captains of the other two teams are only Indian players. Smriti Mandhana was given the captaincy for RCB and Harmanpreet for Mumbai Indians.

Also Read…

MS Dhoni holds a unique record in ODIs, the only cricketer to do so

Ashwin is close to leaving Anil Kumble behind in this regard, with just 22 wickets to take

The Women’s Premier League countdown begins, find out when, where and between whom the first match will be played

Leave a Comment