New Zealand won the first Test by 2 wickets.

NZ vs SL 1st Test Match Highlights: New Zealand won the first match of the Test series between New Zealand and Sri Lanka. New Zealand won this match by 2 wickets. In the second innings of this match, Kane Williamson scored a wonderful century on behalf of New Zealand. He scored 121* to lead the team to victory. Batting first in this match, Sri Lanka were bowled out for 355 runs. With this, New Zealand was bowled out for 373 runs. Sri Lanka scored 302 runs in their second innings to set the hosts New Zealand a target of 285 runs.

The New Zealand team went for runs and won by losing 8 wickets. Along with Kane Williamson, Darryl Mitchell scored 81 runs in 86 balls with the help of 3 fours and 4 sixes. At the same time Tom Latham added 24 runs and Michael Bracewell 10 runs. The rest of the batsmen in that team could not even cross the double digit score. By registering a win in this match, New Zealand eased India’s path to the final of the World Test Championship. That is.. With this victory achieved by New Zealand, the Indian team has reached the final of the World Test Championship.

New Zealand scored centuries in both innings

Both innings saw brilliant century innings from New Zealand. Daryl Mitchell scored 102 runs with the help of 6 fours and 2 sixes in the first innings of the host team. With Mitchell’s century, the team was bowled out for 373 runs in the first innings.

Kane Williamson, the former captain of the team, scored a century in the second innings and took the team to victory. Williamson was unbeaten on 121 with 11 fours and 1 six. Apart from this, Daryl Mitchell has once again proved effective for the team. He scored 81 runs on behalf of the team with the help of 3 fours and 4 sixes in the second innings.

The bowling of both the teams went like this

New Zealand captain Tim Southee scored 64 runs and took 5 wickets in the first innings. Apart from this, Matt Henry scored 80 runs and took 4 wickets to his name. Meanwhile, Michael Bracewell managed to pick up a wicket.

In the second innings, Sri Lanka’s bowling was brilliant by Asita Fernando. He gave 85 runs and took 4 wickets. Apart from this, Lahiru Kumara gave 76 runs and took 3 wickets. Meanwhile, Kasun Rajitha took 2 wickets and Prabhat Jayasuriya took 1 wicket.

New Zealand fast bowler Blair Tickner took 4 wickets in the second innings. Along with this, Henry got 3 wickets and Tim Southee got 2 wickets.

In the last innings of the match, there was good bowling from Sri Lanka but the bowlers failed to win the team. Sri Lankan bowler Asita Fernando scored 63 runs and took 3 wickets in this innings. At the same time, Prabhat Jayasuriya managed to take 2 wickets. Apart from this, Lahiru Kumar and Kasun Rajitha took 1-1 wickets in their account.

Also Read…


Leave a Comment