WPL 2023: First match of first season of Women’s Premier League to be played today, know everything about it


Gujarat Giants vs Mumbai Indians WPL 2023: The Women’s Premier League (WPL 2023) is set to begin today (March 4). The first match of the first season of this league will be held today at 7.30 pm. Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Giants will face each other in this match. The match will be played at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai.

The command of Mumbai Indians is in the hands of Harmanpreet Kaur. The team also has veteran players like Haley Mathews and Natalie Seaver. On the other hand, Australian wicket keeper batsman Beth Mooney is leading Gujarat Giants. The Gujarat team also has legendary players like Sneha Rana, Harleen Deol and Ashley Gardner. In such a situation, this first match of WPL will be very boring.

How are these two teams teaming up?

Mumbai Indians Women: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Natalie Scheever, Pooja Vastrakar, Yastika Bhatia, Amelia Kerr, Amanjot Kaur, Hayley Mathews, Chloe Tryon, Heather Graham, Isabelle Wong, Priyanka Bala, Dhara Gujjar, Humaira Qazi, Jintimani Kalita, Neelam Bishketh, Sonam Bishk Yadav.

Gujarat Giants Women: Beth Mooney (C), Sneh Rana (VC), Ashley Gardner, Sophia Dunkley, Annabel Sutherland, Harleen Deol, Kim Garth, Shabbineni Meghana, Georgia Wareham, Manasi Joshi, Dayalan Hemalatha, Monica Patel, Tanuja Kanwar, Sushma Verma, Hurley Gala , Ashwini Kumari, Parunika Sisodia and Shabnam Shakeel.

When and where to watch the match?
Viacom-18 holds the TV and digital broadcast rights for all matches in the Women’s Premier League. Hence all these matches will be telecast live on Sports-18 1 and Sports-18 1 HD channels. Live streaming of matches will be available on Jio Cinema app.

What is the format of WPL 2023?
5 teams are participating in WPL 2023. Under round robin matches, each team plays two matches against the remaining four teams. After this, the top ranked team will directly enter the final, with an eliminator match between the second and third ranked team and its winner will be the second team to reach the final. The final match will be held on March 26. That means a total of 22 matches will be played in 23 days.

Also Read…

Team India out of WTC final race? Do you know what the equation is after the indoor defeat?

The first match of the season will be between Gujarat and Mumbai, find out where you can watch live streaming of the match


Leave a Comment